Ski Mask the Slump God

After working with my brother for a few weeks, I was finally able to finish the article that he wanted to write. I figured it would be a good way for him to express himself and put himself out there. I hope you enjoy this, and if want to hear more from him let me know!

Its been a long time since I have been able to stick to one artist and enjoy the mass majority of their music until I heard Ski Mask the Slump God. I started listening to him around June of 2016 after being introduced by one of my friends. He had shown me the song “Wheres The Blow!” with Lil Pump and I would constantly blast it throughout my school day. As soon as the song starts you’re greeted by one of my favorite samples which is “Tokyo Drift” by Teriyaki Boyz. It’s such an unexpected use of a sample but the way it works is even more intriguing. My playlist slowly started to be filled with most of his third mixtape DROWN IN DESIGNER.

Ski Mask really caught my attention with his many collabs with XXXTentacion, and I would even be inclined to say that they’re one of the best duos of the Soundcloud era. After Ski Mask co-founded his collaborative rap group Members Only with XXXTentacion and releasing Members Only Vol.1 in 2015, they instantly rose to popularity together. Collaborating with Denzel Curry and Ronny J on songs such as “SPACEGHOSTP***Y” along with his feature on Members Only, Vol. 3 with “Bowser” which helped boost himself onto the rap scene. On June 13, 2017, Ski Mask dropped “Catch Me Outside” and he instantly blew up thanks to the Cole Bennet visuals. It’s hard to pinpoint where in the song he shined the most because he had so many different components that instantly made this song a hit. Using a sample of Missy Elliott’s “She’s a B***h” he delivered punchline after punchline which resulted in a nonstop flow and it was a great way to introduce him to the hip-hop scene.

Flash forward to June 2017 with his release of YouWillRegret, Ski Mask had done something that I’ve personally never seen. Ski Mask included samples from cartoons and movies such as his song “DURAGFLOWZ” by using the “Stadium Rave (Jellyfish Jam)” sample from Spongebob Squarepants. Growing up watching Spongebob, anybody can recognize the sample and start jamming to it. A few months later Ski dropped “Achoo!” with 88rising’s Keith Ape and appeared on the Higher Brother’s song titled “Flo Rida”.

Ski Mask has recently been divided about his music since the untimely passing of frequent collaborator and close friend XXXTentacion. Ski Mask has also been delaying the release of any new music since being on his U.S. tour, and his recent struggle to continue to keep rapping in general. Time can only tell if we will see any more of Ski Mask the Slump God in the future of the music industry.

One thought on “Ski Mask the Slump God

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.